

MeSSa 2010

Copenhagen, Denmark, August 23, 2010

Co-located with ECSA 2010

MeSSa 2010 - 1st International Workshop on Measurability of Security in Software Architectures

The growing complexity of service-centric systems has increased the need for pertinent and reliable software security and trusted system solutions. Systematic approaches to measuring security in software architectures are needed in order to obtain sufficient and credible proactive evidence of the security level or performance of a system, service or product. The systematic definition of security metrics and security assurance metrics is a young field that still lacks widely accepted definitions of metrics and applicable measuring techniques for design-time and runtime security monitoring.

The workshop will provide a forum for dissemination, demonstration and discussion of original scientific and experimental results of security measurement topics.

MeSSa 2010 solicits contributions on the following issues (but not limited to):

- Security, trust and privacy metrics
- · Security assurance metrics
- Security, trust and privacy measurement systems and associated data gathering
- Metrics for adaptive security systems
- · Taxonomical and ontological research on security metrics
- Experimental results from security measurements
- Security measurability-increasing mechanisms for software architectures
- The relationship and differences between security metrics and security assurance metrics
- Tradeoff analysis and decision-making at design-time and at run-time

The workshop paper will be published in a second volume of the ECSA 2010 conference proceedings with an ISBN number and through ACM digital library (approval pending). At least one author of all accepted papers must present the paper at the workshop.

Important dates and paper submission

Submission of papers: May 17, 2010 Author notification: June 7, 2010

Submission of camera-ready paper: July 1, 2010

Authors should submit a workshop paper no longer than eight pages. A double-blind review process will be carried out to all submitted regular papers.

The authors should use the ACM template for the paper. The first page of the submitted paper should contain the paper title, author names, affiliations and contact information (this page is not counted to the total number of pages). The second page should start with paper title, without author information. The paper should be supplied in MS Word or PDF format to messa2010@vtt.fi.



Workshop Co-Chairs

Reijo Savola • Teemu Kanstrén • Antti Evesti VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland messa2010@vtt.fi

Program Committee

- Habtamu Abie, Norwegian Computing Center (Norway)
- Nadya Bartol, Booz Allen Hamilton (USA)
- Ulrike Baumann, EADS (France)
- John Bigham, Queen Mary University of London (UK)
- Christophe Blad, Oppida (France)
- Marijke Coetzee, University of Johannesburg (South Africa)
- Michel Cukier, University of Maryland (USA)
- Giorgio da Bormida, ELGI (Italy)
- Jim Clarke, Waterford Institute of Technology (Ireland)
- Ilesh Dattani, Q-Sphere (UK)
- Samuel Dubus, Alcatel-Lucent (France)
- Sammy Haddad, ENST (France)
- Thomas Heyman, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
- Zoltan Hornák, SEARCH-LAB (Hungary)
- Siv-Hilde Houmb, Telenor (Norway)
- Erland Jonsson, Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden)
- Oscar López, Nextel S.A. (Spain)
- Louis Marinos, European Network and Information Security Agency (Greece)
- Aliki Ott, Nokia Siemens Networks (Finland)
- Moussa Ouedraogo, CRP Henri Tudor (Luxembourg)
- Eila Ovaska, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (Finland)
- Tanir Ozcelebi, Technical University of Eindhoven (The Netherlands)
- Pierre Parrend, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
- Aliosa Pasic, Atos Origin (Spain)
- Christophe Ponchel, EADS (France)
- Michel Riguidel, ENST (France)
- Domenico Rotondi, TXT e-solutions SpA (Italy)
- Juha Röning, University of Oulu (Finland)
- Riccardo Scandariato, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
- Pedro Soria-Rodriguez, Atos Origin (Spain)
- Ari Takanen, Codenomicon (Finland)
- Alessandra Toninelli, INRIA Paris (France)
- Hein Venter, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
- Antti Vähä-Sipilä, Nokia (Finland)